EnGROSSed in Social Media

Social Media Overload

I’m realizing that I since I don’t have time to check my social media during the day due to my duties at work, I spend my free time at home on and off of my different social media sites until I go to sleep. I watch the news to keep up on current events in the morning before work and I surf through my social media sites to keep up on pop culture after work.

In my mind, sometimes if I don’t check my Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram at least once a day, then I’ve missed everything.  I hate being late on receiving news. I spend less time reading and more time on a computer, which is shocking because I stay on my computer all day at work which is no fun for my eyes.  Fortunately for me, my job keeps me so busy that I don’t have time to check my phone during the day, much less my social media pages.  By the time I get home I’ve considered myself late in receiving all the relevant pop culture news so sometimes I don’t bother checking Instagram.  This is one step towards unplugging.

The internet is wonderful however you can ALWAYS find information and news.  It’s good to take a break and unplug.  I want to focus on reading and dancing in the little free time that I have.

Do you need to cut back on social media?  What would you like to focus on doing instead of looking at your phone or computer?

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

One thought on “EnGROSSed in Social Media”

  1. Friend this is so true!! I too am battling with detaching myself from social media, particularly instagram. Although, I find it extremely difficult due to my duties attached with my reign OR my obsession with photos, I’ve done it once before so I know it’s accomplishable. I’d like to spend more time reading, preparing for GRE, & dancing as well. So I’ll join you on this “socially media purge” Lol did you find a MixxedFit class in your area?

Leave a comment