Advice for 2017: Stay in YOUR lane

Yes, you read that right and no… I don’t mean to be rude.  It can be so easy to compare and contrast our life to the lives of our siblings, friends, colleagues and mentors to understand how they all became “successful” while we haven’t experience our own just yet.  This needs to stop, now!  Stop trying to figure out why Sallie Mae was able to start her own successful business but you haven’t, yet.  Stop comparing your rising path to success to someone else’s paved road of success.

success

What was meant for Sallie Mae wasn’t meant for you.  Her background, up-bringing and experiences are different from your own so don’t get yourself into a rut because you haven’t found YOUR niche yet.

When I get down or I’m not having a good day, I’m guilty of retracting back to this bad behavior.  Lately I’ve been reading several different blogs and I’ve even started listening to podcasts, which is something I thought I’d never get into figuring how to set aside time for implementing in my life. I can thank Brittani Hunter for the podcast suggestions!

Everyone thinks of success in different terms.  You think Sallie Mae has it all figured out but she may start to resent what she does or she may want to start a family but doesn’t have time.  Unless an intimate conversation between both parties is held, you cannot assume what success is for others is what they have for themselves.  They may strive for more, or even for something completely different.

Be the best you that you can be.  Be unapologetic about being the best you.  Make mistakes so that you can learn from them, no one has everything figured out anyway.  Live life to the fullest extent possible and re-define your own definition of success.  That should be one of our resolutions for next year.

This will be my last post for the year.  I’m working on some exciting new projects and I hope you ask me more about the details of this to help me stay on track.  Hold me accountable!  Happy holidays and have a happy New Year!

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

