The UnPRetty Blues

Forgive me for not writing in my blog lately.  Four months ago my life changed when I decided to leave my full-time job as a marketing manager to pursue my dreams as an entry-level worker in the public relations industry, particularly at an agency in New York City.  I briefly relocated to the Greater NYC area for about three weeks, going on interviews and learning my way around the Big Apple.  Unfortunately for me after a couple of great interviews, the companies I really had hoped to work for decided to choose other candidates so back home to NC I go!

While I was in NYC I finally connected with fellow NC native and friend Blogxilla (go follow him on twitter by the way @blogxilla).  He told me I needed to get going back home to my comfort pillow out of my head.  I agreed with him wholeheartedly but I also had to use common sense and think about my situation.  I was living in a house in Newark, commuting to the city, sharing a room with a 50+ year old woman who had a contracted hit out on her and was psycho crazy woman, all with no source of income.  After the realization of these conditions, I chose to think about my safety and come back home.

Just because I’m back in NC, doesn’t mean I’m giving up my NY dream.  I’m still applying to jobs and still getting phone interviews from NYC jobs.  I may have fallen up I refuse to stay down or give up.  So many people have told me I inspired them and I do not want to let them down by giving up.  I WILL make my dreams come true, it just may take a few part-time jobs before I make that happen.

The only person that is standing in my way is my very own self.  I’ve been getting in my own way by not being as productive as I possibly could.  Currently working on a few things until something else comes through for me.  I just want to thank everyone in my life that has supported me from Day 1.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

2 thoughts on “The UnPRetty Blues”

  1. This sounds just like me! I left my promotions job in radio to pursue other job opportunities. Being from Alabama, I hope to find jobs that are out of Alabama! The sky is the limit never give up on your dreams!!

Leave a Reply

