Tap into your Network!

Ty Hunter, Beyonce's Stylist

When pursuing your dreams, you cannot do it alone.  Sometimes it’s who you know and not what you know.

Social media is a great place to connect and network with people that share your same career interests.  I told some of my network that I was relocating to the NYC area.  After 24 hours of living in NYC, one of my associates invited me to Cassie’s listening party for her new mix tape “Rock A Bye Baby.”  It was the first time I actually met my associate in person.  At first I wasn’t going to go because I commute to the city and I didn’t feel like commuting back.  After second thought, I decided to attend because it’s a chance to grow my network.  I’m so glad I did that!

I met a lot of people in the entertainment industry.  People from Global Grind, Blogxilla, Def Jam, XXL Magazine, Concreteloop.com, DDotomen.com and so much more.  My associate’s friend then took me and my associate to the 40/40 club to watch the NCAA championship.  The club’s owner even came by to watch the game, Jay-Z!  It was the best Monday night I’ve ever had and to think I was going to stay in and watch television!

Have you tapped into your network?

Shoutout to Blogxilla!

Cassiecassie rock a bye baby

I can't believe I met THE Ty Hunter.  If you don't know him, he's Beyonce's stylist.
I can’t believe I met THE Ty Hunter. If you don’t know him, he’s Beyonce’s stylist.

 

4040 club
Briefly saw Jay-Z as the 40/40 Club.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

