Small Business Saturday

Yesterday, I wrote about Thanksgiving Thursday being the new Black Friday.  Today, as I was checking my HARO queries, I noticed one asking what businesses are doing for Small Business Saturday. It puzzled me because I’ve never heard of Small Business Saturday before, so I did a quick Google search.

On their website, American Express offers a chance to small businesses with free online ads and free marketing material as well.  On Wikipedia, (yeah I still use this website despite the questioning of it’s valid material), it said that Small Business Saturday is the American Shopping Holiday created by American Express held on the Saturday after Thanksgiving during one of the busiest shopping periods of the year.

I think it was genius for American Express to come up with such an idea back in 2010 (it also makes you a more creditable source from a PR-perspective). We always think about what kind of deals large chains can give us instead of supporting our local stores and bringing more business into your local city.  Small Business Saturday was created to help bring more business to more local brick and motar stores instead of national chains such as Wal-Mart, Target, and others.  These stores are the local shops in your area that may not see much traffic during Black Friday.

Do you know of any small businesses having deals and discounts during the weekends of Thanksgiving Thursday through Cyber Monday?

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

