Expect the Unexpected-A Day at LaGuardia Airport

As a PR professional, you must be prepared for the unexpected.  Always be on your P’s and Q’s.

My latest journey outside of North Carolina has led me to New York City.  I was invited to spend a week in New York with a friend and my now new friend who is also a publicist.  As a young professional, it makes sense to find the best airline and hotel deals.  Of course I wanted to travel on the same flight as my colleague so I went on a booked the flight.  Unfortunately for her, the site where she booked her flight from had different plans.

Hotwire decided to push back my colleague’s flight 6 hours.  The other friend booked the hotel in her name and there is no way for her to switch it to my name.  I had no close friends staying in the city sooooo…..I had to wait it out at LaGuardia Airport.

It actually wasn’t that bad.  The only two things I didn’t like were the expensive airport food and the airport didn’t offer free wi-fi like other airports.  I was elated when I found an outlet where I can charge my phone.  Luckily I borrowed a book from my friend to read for entertainment.  It was Lauren Conrad’s Sweet Little Lies.  It was really juicy!  I had heard about her book series before but now I will find the other two books and read them as well.

Of course I had social media to entertain/inform me.  I also wanted to be as productive as possible.  I mapped out my next 6 blogpost topics, research a company I was interviewing for while in town, and did some work for my internship, The Marque Group, LLC.  I never let my time go to waste.  Even when I’m at home trying to relax, I can’t do it because I always feel like I should be doing SOMETHING.

How do you make the most of your time?  Share your comments below!

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

2 thoughts on “Expect the Unexpected-A Day at LaGuardia Airport”

  1. I’m like you! I map out future blog posts, to-do lists, draft emails and write out lists of people I want to connect with. Of course I keep my handy dandy iPhone close so I can stay on all my social networks. I also always keep a notebook and pen on me. That way I’m ALWAYS entertained!

Leave a Reply

