Stepping on toes

So I’m watching re-runs of “The Hills” on MTV. I love this show. This particular episode shows Heidi talking to a co-worker, Elodie. Elodie tells Heidi that she is interested in the new job opening within Bolthouse Producttions company that they work for. She goes into detail about how she deserves the job and what the job entails. Heidi expresses to Elodie that she should apply.

Meanwhile after work, Heidi gets home and tells her boyfriend at the time, Spencer, that a job is open and that she is kind of interested. Her boyfriend encourages her to apply, even only after being there for a year. Elodie has been there longer. Heidi takes Spencer’s advice and talks to her boss.

Heidi must have really worked hard and gave a good convincing speech because her boss promoted her instead of Elodie. When Elodie found out, she clearly felt betrayed. Heidi mentions she didn’t want to step on any toes and it’s just business but you can see that Heidi knows what she did was bad against her “office friend”. Elodie tells Heidi that it’s all good and that she should appreciate the job.

Seeing Heidi with her new office and new assistant just doesn’t sit well with Elodie.  She is clearly holding a grudge against Heidi and every time she walks by Heidi’s new office, she rolls her eyes and shakes her head.  Eloide ends up quitting her job.  Apparently she couldn’t take working with Heidi and a boss who felt like betrayed her.

This is a tough life lesson for those in the work field.  When it comes down to it, there are no friends in the work place.  This is a dog-eat-dog world and sometimes people will go behind your back to get ahead in their careers.  You have got to think about yourself first before anyone else.  If I think I can do a new job that has just been offered in my place of work, but I haven’t been there as long just like Heidi, I will to still apply and list what I have done and the reasons why I can benefit the company in that position.  I would feel bad about my co-worker if I got the position over them having them being at the company longer but I would just have to get over it and do my job.

What would you do?  How would you feel?

 

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

