Social Media becoming too social to keep up with!!!

Social Media is constantly growing. It’s bigger and more intimate than Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIN. Now you can find social media platforms catered to your likes/interests. Say if you like computers and finding out information on the latest software, you can join Wakoopa http://social.wakoopa.com/ to do just that. There are also social media platforms for specific religions, ethnicities, sexual orientation, mothers, investing, research scientists, etc. If there isn’t one that you can find catered to your specific interests, then there will be soon I’m sure! The possibilities are limitless!

One of my favorite things to do is dance. I was a dancer in my high school’s marching band. I also like to dance for fun! I did not know there was a social media platform for dancers until I googled it. BOOM! I found Choreoclip.com. Here, I can find dance classes, dance events, and watch videos!

I’ve attended a social media bootcamp sponsored by BEM Interactive here in Greensboro, NC.  Even though I’ve gotten a certificate, I feel like I need another lesson because social media is ever-changing.  I follow Mashable.com on twitter and they are having a one-day conference in NYC at the beginning of November.  My company cannot afford for me to go but I do not fret because I know that there will be another one soon.

I love learning about social media because as I’ve said before, it’s ever-changing.  Companies really need to get on the ball with social media as a way to connect with their customers or fan-base if they have not done so thus far.  You cannot just put social media as icing on the cake but it also has to be a part of the mix.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

