Speakerpreneur Toastmasters

Last week during my lunch break, I attended my first Toastmaster’s Meeting in Greensboro, NC. I had the pleasure of meeting Otis Prince, with whom I connected to on Facebook and he got me interested in the organization.

When I first walked in, I went back to my old ways and I felt a little shy. President Will Hall greeted me and was eager for me to participate in the Table Top portion of the meeting. This is where a random question is asked to a random person and they have to explain their answer. At first I told Mr. Hall I will pass on the table top speech but then I gave it some thought. This is my first step to being a better speaker and bettering my skills as a young professional. I decided to participate.

Going off subject a bit, the meeting was very organized. I loved how everything and everyone is timed on how long they have to speak. The group meets during lunch time on Thursdays so I imagine people have to return to work. There is a person that counts how many times you use fillers, a timer, and a person that evaluates your speech. They do their job in the upmost respectful, non-judgemental way and I love that.

Back to where I left off. When the Table Top portion of the meeting came, I had no idea what type of question I would get asked. The questions was first asked to everyone and then the person running that portion of the meeting would chose a random person. I was the first to have get chose.

My question was: If you could own any type of business, what would it be. It’s funny that I was asked that because a few weeks ago, I would have said I don’t know. It wasn’t until I had a conversation with my daddy and he asked me the same question. I told him I don’t want to own my own business. He then explained that it’s always good to have that option, and he also threw it out there that he wouldn’t mind investing in it.

My answer to this question was a dance studio. I then explained how I would have been a dancer instead of doing what I’m doing now if I grew up where I had more opportunities to perfect my dancing skills. The only real form of dancing I’ve had was being co-captain of my high school band’s dance line. Those were the best three years of my life. I never had so much fun doing something I loved to do. By owning a dance studio, I would be able to help those who love to dance and those who may not can pay for dancing classes. I would figure out how to fundraise to help those who want their dreams of becoming a professional dancer come true.

https://marketingcassandra.files.wordpress.com/2011/08/toastmasters.jpg

At the end of the meeting,  I had the pleasure of meeting with Mr. Otis  Prince as well as a couple of other people.  Everyone was very nice and I even got one of my fraternity brothers interested in coming with me to the next meeting.  I’m very excited about this potentially new chapter in my life.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

