Can bad lead to fame? Put the focus on the most important.

Today is June 25, 2011. It marks the 2 year anniversary of the late Michael Jackson’s death. It was a day many will remember as one of the saddest because we lost someone iconic who can never duplicate him.

Today was also a day that I was to attend my first dance class since I stopped dancing in high school. Unfortunately, when I get to the studio, no one was even there. Instead, I came back home and learned the choreography to Ciara’s “Work” feat. Missy Elliot by a dancer named Brooklyn Jai. He is amazing and I found him on YouTube through actress Francia Raisa, who is also a dancer.

Well all that dancing around with no food on my stomach gave me a huge migraine and I had to get out the light. I looked at my phone and thought I saw someone saying Happy Birthday Michael Jackson. That’s when I also decided to say it but then I realized after I tweeted it, today wasn’t his birthday but the day he passed. Too late.

Twitter went crazy with people laughing and responding with very rude comments. One mistake lead many people to retweet what I tweeted. It’s amazing how fast a tweet can travel, especially the ones we CHOOSE to retweet.

Have you ever thought about the many people that are promoting a good cause, or asking for advice, or even trying to find a missing person via social media? I find it unbelieveable how the devil really has taken over the world. People will retweet a stupid tweet until they make fun of a person so bad that they will get so much attention to the point of being famous but won’t retweet to help find a missing person. It can happen and trust me, I do not want to be famous, especially off of tweeting something that was a mistake and isn’t factual. Instead of focusing on “how stupid one person is” or calling someone a “dumbass” off of a mistake, which everyone makes, why can’t we use what we have for a good cause?

I’m sure some of you on Twitter have seen a tweet either from or about @NewsOnLaurenS. There is a girl named Lauren Spierer and she has been missing since June 3, 2011 and a twittername has been established just to help spread the word to find her. How many of you decided to retweet that message you got from @NewsOnLaurenS to get more people aware? Did you care or did you ignore it? What if that person was your friend or relative? Wouldn’t you want people to at least KNOW about it? Don’t let the devil take over your thought process. Trust me, seeing how fast news travels on the internet, your tweets matter!

I know if Michael was alive today, he would want everyone to give back. Well do that! Go volunteer and be selfless. It doesn’t take much to give back. If you could follow @NewsOnLaurenS and just retweet ONE tweet then I know he would be proud.

Help find Lauren by following @NewsonLaurenS and retweet them to spread the word.

R.I.P Michael Joseph Jackson August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

