Daddy vs. Father:A post-Father’s Day post

Growing up, my parents were never together. My mother married when I was five to my stepfather and my daddy went on to marry and remarry. As I contemplate on the years that my daddy was mostly never there, the older I got the better I understood what a “father” is. Dictionary.com defines the term “father” as “to perform the tasks or duties of a male parent.” My daddy never did much of that. He wasn’t there when I took my first steps or got my first crush, or was there when I got my heart broken for the first time. My stepFATHER however did. My daddy always tried to be my friend instead of my parent, and always at the wrong times. I find it funny that Dictionary.com defines the term “daddy” as an informal word for father. That’s how I feel about my “daddy,” just an informal parent.

Before you jump to conclusions, I’m not trying to be one of those girls that expresses how much she hates her biological father. I’m simply trying to convey that a father doesn’t have to be biological. A father just have to perform some of the duties a male parent does. A father figure to you could be an uncle, a family friend, or even the President of the United States. Now I see that anyone can be a daddy. But it takes a real man to BE a father. To all of the father’s out there, Happy Belated Father’s Day.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

2 thoughts on “Daddy vs. Father:A post-Father’s Day post”

  1. First of all, Thank you for the post. I can relate to you, in the fact my father was in and out of my life. Unlike you, I didn’t have a daddy either or a stepdad/stepfather. I can say though, looking back that I had the best father in the universe guiding me and that was God! So, my take on the issue I addressed yesterday in a video blog… our viewpoints are similar yet opposite the spectrum. I would like to offer you to take a view of it at http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=2013576106314&comments .. and please let me know what your take on it was! Thanks again! Have a great one!

Leave a Reply

