Endless Opportunities

I was speaking with a friend the other day and we were talking about career fairs at colleges. It has been expressed that recruiters hate doing career fairs. I thought about it and I can understand why they would.

Many students attend career fairs with resumes in hand but minimum to no research about the company they are handing their resumes to. When asked what do you want to do with your major, many people get stuck. After they say one thing, the company recruiter may say something about the position that has nothing to do with what the student wants to do. That’s when the student will say that he/she is interested in the position only because they aren’t any other positions open doing what they want to do.

When I heard about this, I thought to myself and I realized I have no idea what I want to do with my marketing degree when I graduate. After putting some thought into it, I realized the marketing field is so broad.

Many recruiters are looking for people in their sales department, which is totally different from marketing.

I went on an interview and the interview went well, even though I did not get the job. My interviewer taught me something important about marketing. Marketing, as opposed to sales, is developing a strategy or plan of action and Sales is executing that plan. I’d rather do the development phase than the execution phase.

I also pondered that I have been one of those students that went to those career fairs and switch my interests just to apply for the job. I really want to work in the marketing field but I need help understanding exactly what the following fields entail when it comes to marketing:

brand management
strategy
data management
SEO/SEM
business analyst
other fields in marketing

I would also like to know what SQL is and the best way to be familiar with it. Comments are greatly appreciated. Sometimes school doesn’t prepare you for everything, which is why I plan to get certified in other aspects of business.

As this picture means, the sky is the limit. You can do anything, but only if you set your mind to do it. Don’t be afraid to be a go-getter. Take initiative, make mistakes and learn from them. Make many more mistakes because that’s how you learn in life.

Author: Cassandra Williams

Public relations and marketing professional. Subscribe to share my journey to fulfilling my dreams as a marketing and public relations professional.

Leave a Reply

