Spammers Beware!

 

spammersSpammers can be the most annoying people online ever!  You may notice that as your social media followers continue to grow, so does your visibility with spammers.  They see continual growth on your pages and use the key words that you post to target you for what ever they are trying to promote.

Personally, I block every single spammer that decides to tag me on a post.  No, I don’t need new followers because I’ll just grow them the old fashion way, with one tweet at a time.  No, I don’t want to listen to your music because I have a preference and my own things to promote (without spamming by the way.)

The only time spamming has worked on me was when someone I didn’t know tagged me in a post promoting a singer that appeared on a TV show.  When I went to look at the “spammer’s” Twitter page, I saw that they were really trying to go about a different way of “spamming” by having conversations with the people they tag.  Deciding to take a risk, I listened to this singer (@micaparris) and fell in love with her music.  We now follow each other and I wish her well on her journey towards reaching her goals.

If you HAVE to spam people, take heed to a little advice.

  • Don’t spam using back-to-back tweets with different users based off of a keyword search.
  • Do your keyword search, write down a listen of users and target them once a day or one tweet every three hours.
  • Don’t just tweet them telling them to listen to your music.ENGAGE in conversation, let them know what you are trying to do and how you are trying to do it. If people see that you have only a handful of followers and you’re following thousands of people, that will be a red flag and a block will be put up towards your profile.
Leave a Reply

